jump to navigation

NYC SpaceTweeps (unofficial) Mini-Tweetup November 17, 2009

Posted by craftlass in Uncategorized.
trackback

(N.B.: We’ve been talking about this on Twitter, but I thought I’d add more information where we could all refer back to it.  It will get updated if/when I learn more.)

This Friday, November 20th, Mike Massimino (@Astro_Mike, the first person to tweet from space, and thus the ultimate Space Tweep) is scheduled to appear at the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum in New York City as a part of their NASA Weekend (runs through Sunday) along with NASA outreach personnel.  After a lot of searching and calling various people at the Intrepid I have found out that he is scheduled to speak at 11:00 AM [this is for students but the first 50 members of the public to arrive will get in] and they recommend being there right when they open at 10:00 to make sure to be in the right place on time.  [Updated to add that he is also speaking at 3:00 PM at the Exploreum Hall Stage for the general public. Thanks, @Stratocumulus!]

The whole weekend is to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 12 expedition and will include many special exhibits (including interactive ones) from NASA.  It’s also the perfect chance to get us space geeks together and for those of us who haven’t been to the Intrepid since she returned to see her all spiffed up!

Adult admission is $22.00 +fees (I believe those are $2, so $24 total) and they have great deals for veterans, students, and children.  For more information or to buy tickets in advance go to https://tickets.intrepidmuseum.org/.

If you are planning to come send me an @ tweet or DM at @CraftLass or leave a comment with your Twitter name.  I’m also looking for a good way to make sure we all meet up, if anyone has any ideas of a good spot to meet (I haven’t been there in years) or a way to catch everyone’s attention tweet them @ me or leave them in the comments.

Summary

  • Who: Metro-Area SpaceTweeps + Mike Massimino + awesome (in the true sense) ship = Too Cool!
  • What: NASA Weekend
  • Where: The Intrepid at Pier 86 (46th St. and the river/West Side Highway), NYC
  • When: Friday, November 20th, 2009 at 10:00 AM. If you can only make it in the afternoon try to arrive by 3 and DM me through Twitter.

Update: I’m planning to arrive outside the Intrepid around 9:30 AM and will be carrying a small sign (if all goes as planned). I’m not sure exactly where I’ll be but will try to be very obvious and also tweet my location.  The weather is supposed to be chilly and drizzly (as of my last check a high of 61 degrees but feeling like 54), so make sure to wear layers to stay comfortable as we go from room to room and inside to outside, especially with all the river winds.

Looking very forward to meeting all of you!  I will have my Twitter alerts on (except for the obvious underground-travel LOS), so if you need to reach me just @ or DM me.

Comments»

1. uberVU - social comments - November 17, 2009

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by thenasaman: RT @ksastro Are you in the NYC area? Come to a “Mini #SpaceTweeps TweetUp” w/ @Astro_Mike More detail at: http://bit.ly/3TDjEK or @CraftLass…

2. russ - November 30, 2009

I wish I could go. Maybe again. I have never seen a lunch and the clock is ticking … Must.Go.before.Program.Canceled!!!


Leave a Reply

